Music Wednesday: The Most Played Song on Spotify

So I’ve titled this blog “the most played song on Spotify,” for me at least. This definitely isn’t the most played song in all of Spotify. I don’t even know if this is the most played song on my personal Spotify. However, I do remember it made my “Year in Review” list for 2016 from Spotify so I must have played it enough for the song to hit the list.

Nonetheless, you won’t hear much Chris Young on my Spotify. In fact, you’ll hear almost no Chris Young on my Spotify. It’s not that I don’t like Chris Young because I do. In fact, I love him. But due to certain circumstances, I don’t keep his music on my Spotify. (The same goes for Die A Happy Man by Thomas Rhett. LOVE the song, but you’ll never actually see me listen to it. In fact, I often turn it off when it comes on the radio but I digress)

Still, beyond my connection with Chris Young and my reasons for keeping his music away from my Spotify there is a song by him that I will listen to every time it comes on shuffle and then some.

I’m not sure how to describe it, but it’s one of those songs that just hits me. The crescendo into the beginning, followed by the steady beat of the drum and then finally Chris’ beautiful voice singing the first verse until he and the rest of the band hit it hard at the chorus. It’s perfection. It’s one of those songs that can instantly change my mood and I often find myself with it on repeat.

I cannot count the amount of times I’ve gone for drives on beautiful Texas days with the windows rolled down, blaring this song, watching my antler and turquoise necklace dangle from my review mirror with a soft smirk to the side of my face. I just love it that much.

These are the reasons why I would take a guess that’s it’s the most played song on my Spotify. I could be wrong, and that’s okay if I am. But we’re going to pretend it is. After all, music speaks to us for a reason and Chris definitely made a masterpiece when his voice was combined with these lyrics. Like I said, perfection.

Alright guys, I’m done babbling. Though if anyone knows if there’s a way to check your most played songs on Spotify, I’d really appreciate it!

Here’s Lonely Eyes by Chris Young! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

