Music Wednesday: Something Different

As I sit here writing this music Wednesday post, I find myself thinking it’s crazy that 7 years ago was 2010. 7 years. SEVEN.

Seven years ago my life was turned upside in the most beautiful way possible. Seven years ago my dad accepted a new pastoral position and at 15 years old with only 2 years of high school left, I moved 5 hours away from the place I had known as home my entire life.

While some people, arguably most, would hate going through such transition in life, I embraced my new world with open arms. God was in the middle of all of it, and I could see it every step of the way.

Let me explain:

As I’ve gotten older, my dad has always been very open and honest with me about his life in ministry. When the church initially contacted my dad, he turned them down. We had so much happening at the time, and my parents wanted me to finish high school at Little Cypress-Mauriceville. Naturally, we moved on with our lives.

A few months later, the church calls again. They ask my dad to reconsider. As stated before, he’s always been open and honest with me. So he gives in to their consideration, while on the side thinking something has to be wrong with this church if they are circling back though resumes. What followed was a moment I’ll never forget. He called me out of room to tell me what had happened. I stood barely out of doorway from the hallway to the living room, just enough where I could see our TV in my peripheral. And the second my dad told me the church called again, I heard it in the back of my head – “we’re going to move.” 

I never admitted it to my parents initially, but I knew God was in it. My family looked for roadblock after roadblock. Every single one of them was torn down. The interim youth minister? The nephew of my dad’s best friend from college. Head of the music minister search committee? The grandfather of my best friend, Meghan.

God’s trajectory was laid out for us and it was only a matter of moments before He deemed the timing perfect and it came colliding into our lives. As simple as it is to say, when God’s in it, He’s in it. 

If there was one thing I learned throughout the entire process – no matter how hard you may try, you can’t outrun God.

Needless-to-say, this entire process had me on FIRE for God. It doesn’t mean moments were hard. Oh trust me, moments were hard, and there were plenty of moments I wanted to run away from it all, and others where I just wanted to run away to my new life and forget Orange, TX ever existed. But I didn’t. And I still remained on fire for the work God was ever-so clearly mapping out in my life.

Which brings me to this music Wednesday. Correlating with being on fire for God was the music which aided in fueling that fire. Let’s get one thing straight up front. I don’t really listen to a lot of rap music. However, I grew up in the youth age where Lecrae was it, and admittedly, I gave in to some of the songs.

All the songs reminded me of the power of God. Of the example we’re supposed to be for Christ. Of the glory we’re supposed to bring to God. And as I reflected on this journey these past few days, these songs just resonated with my sophomore year of high school and all the change I embraced.

Side note: only one of these songs is actually by Lecrae.

3. 2nd Coming: Flame

You remember when people used to wear those Free Hugs shirts? I had a friend pass away in a car accident my sophomore year, and he loved those shirts. Well one night a group of us decided to adapt from James’ example, but instead of doing free hugs, we did free prayers. We drove up and down 16th St. in Orange, ventured to the local Wal-Mart, and tried to find people we could pray for. It was a really, really fun night, and one I will never forget. While out that night, we kept listening to this song. As the title suggests, it talks about the second coming of Christ. It just helped fuel the fire in us. We were reminded we DON’T know when Christ is coming back, and wanted to embrace the opportunity to bring Him as much glory as possible.

2. Make War: Tedashii

If you ever want to see this classy girl who dresses like she just stepped out of a J. Crew catalog rap, this would be the song. (Actually that only happened when Eminem came on during the kickboxing days. True story) Anyway, before the start of our sophomore year, Meghan and I went to a mini revival in Bridge City, TX. Here we took a class on apologetics where the instructor had us listen to this song and it kind of became our anthem for quite a few months. As two 15-year-old girls, it hit us hard. We read the lyrics and both realized how easy it is to become complacent in sin rather than raging a war against it. We became each other’s accountability partners. We went through each other’s rooms looking at CD’s, Facebook accounts, and anything we felt like could draw us away from God. We even broke a couple CD’s and threw them on the ground at the revival as a very symbolic way of the ways we were going to wage war. It was pretty radical moment for the both us.

1. Send Me: Lecrae

Someone once told me they don’t understand why I like this song so much. I ignored them because you don’t need that kind of negativity in your life. The same way I listen to Krystal Meyers or Breaking Benjamin to get ready for a long run, I listen to this song before mission trips. It’s like the Til I Collapse of missional music. The entire song is focused on the Great Commission. Lecrae talks about the need to be missional, locally and globally. He says we need more people with the martyrs of faith attitude, and as I listen to the lyrics, I find myself agreeing with him. As Christians, we are called to be ambassadors, and we should act as such. (And speaking as someone who REALLY wanted to a go a certain Middle Eastern country when I was 18, I also resonate with the line about sharing faith in a place where they will kill you for it). But beyond that, there is one line in the entire song that always hits me no matter how many times I listen to it – there’s more to life than work, church, and football, what if you were dead in sins and Christians overlooked y’all? Fire. Lines such as that help fuel the fire within me. Plus, I love how much it relates to one my favorite verses, Isaiah 6:8.

For those who know me well, they are very different than most of the music you will find me listening to. Seven years ago my life changed, but these songs helped me embrace that change whole-heartedly.

img_9017

Leave a Reply

