Music Wednesday: The Song of 2017

Happy first Wednesday of the new year!

I hope each and every one of y’all had a fantastic new year no matter how celebrated. I know we’re only four days in, but I hope your 2017 has gone well thus far.

For me personally, I’m currently sitting on my couch, a cup of water to my right, a Christmas tree that’s still up to my left, curled up in my favorite Oxford University sweatshirt and american flag crew socks, watching the fire burn in my fireplace.

fullsizerender

If you’re thinking about how idyllic that sounds, it’s probably because it is. Winter is my favorite season. Being able to come home every night, cook dinner (or order curry for takeout), and curl up by a fire to watch Criminal Minds or House of Cards is a dream for me.

But enough about how much I love the fact it’s 20 degrees outside and I broke out the bowler hat today. As it’s the first music Wednesday of the new year, I thought long and hard about the song I wanted to kick of the year with. I mean, I’ve been on a Tim Janis kick lately so Sunrise Over the Ocean was definitely an option, though that’s more of a song to kick off spring or do yoga too. There’s always James Blake and I LOVE Falls Creek Boys Choir, but a song with a wolf barking in the background wasn’t exactly what I was looking for today. Band of Horses is always a good option, yet something didn’t feel right about “kicking off” 2017 with a song called The Funeral. (Awkkk)

I circled my Spotify again and again for the song I wanted. Weird as it may sound, I knew I didn’t want to do country, not that it limited my options by much, but some.

Then it hit me…I wanted a song that absolutely worshipped God. This doesn’t really narrow it down much either (I have 3 playlists on Spotify dedicated to this, all with different songs). Yet, there are the songs that speak to us more than others.

For me? It was God of Miracles by Chris McClarney. I first heard the song a few months ago. It was a Sunday and I was cleaning my room and I had my computer propped up on my dresser. It was a nice mental break from the paper I had just finished writing.

I was playing one of those random playlists on Spotify I had pulled from the genre section, just talking with God about everything that was on my mind. And I mean everything.

It became one of those weird moments, the song came on and the lyrics instantly hit me.

See, God and I talk a lot about a lot of different things, but the one thing we always come to is when. I can become so tunnel-visioned on certain things in the future, I worry about things that 1) I need-not worry about and 2) may never even happen, ESPECIALLY in the ways I play them out in my over-active imagination.

The thing is I don’t need to worry because faith in God includes faith in His promises AND His timing. Yeah, the timing part is hard. But as hard as it is, and trust me I really, really, really know how hard it is, the timing is perfect, and we shouldn’t worry about anything.

That’s what I love about the line in the song – “Let faith arise and see the kingdom come. I lift my eyes for the battle has been won. My God is faithful and every word He said is true.”

The battle has been won. While the timing part is difficult for our human minds bound to concepts of time and space to comprehend, it’s not something that affects our Father. He is faithful and every word He says is true.

2 Corinthians 1:20, right?

That’s why I think this is a perfect song to start 2017 off with. As a year of hope, it’s good to be reminded God is not bound by the same limitations we are. Our hope is not in vain, it’s in the Lord who has already won.

Just something to think about this Wednesday.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

