The Cause of Christ

81f4ed6e144cca1721bce4def3154d05

Kari Jobe released a new song, I’m not sure how long ago, but I just heard it this past week. The song is beautiful, though it did take me a couple times of listening to it before I finally registered what she was saying.

“The only thing I want in life is to be known for loving Christ. To build His church, to love His bride, and make His name known far and wide.”

It’s a goal I believe all Christians should have. I would like to say about myself that at the end of the day I’m someone trying to walk with God and give Him the glory the entire way. But I also see my failures every day and I’m reminded I’m human. I find myself acting like Abraham in many ways and saying “but God maybe if we did it this way” instead of just walking and trusting with the Lord.

It’s a journey to go down. I try to live by the idea of “don’t think less of yourself but instead think of yourself less” but at the end of the day, I know that’s not always true.

God has done amazing work in my life, and I mean truly transformational work. But that doesn’t mean the work is done yet. We’ve have our ruts and those moments where I have to ask God where and how he wants me to go forward. There’s always the moments I look at God and say “well, I think this can wait.”

The cause of Christ is a continuous journey. My fire for God is not by any means something that just happened overnight. I had to learn how to trust God. I had to learn how to saturate my life Christ.

The most joy I ever find in my life is when no matter the circumstances around me (which is incredibly difficult at times), every part of my mind is focused on Christ and His word. Holding true to the word of God is the only way I’ve made it through those tough, confusing, and frustrating times in life. And when I hit those ruts, those are again the moments I realize how greatly I need my life saturated with scripture.

So how do I do it? It’s fairly simple actually.

  1. Read scripture every day.
    But I have homework. But I have to work. But I’m tired. But I don’t know where to begin. What if I do it wrong? Believe me, these are ALL excuses I have used. I’m convinced if Satan can’t make you bad, he makes you busy. It is a discipline, I will not lie, but it is a discipline that is worth it. The more time we send in scripture, the more we can see it transform our lives. That in itself is a great reward.
  2. Memorize scripture.
    Okay, so I don’t recommend asking me to cite a verse for you word-for-word. I’ll probably fail that test. But understanding scripture, having it written on your heart, knowing the meaning of what God is saying, that’s the important part. The more we read scripture, the more our lives are transformed, the more we will begin to find these verses sticking and impacting our hearts. Our minds are then transformed even more.
  3. Worship with God.
    Do you sing in your car? Don’t lie, I know you do. And I’m not calling anyone out because I do too. There are times it’s a full-blown concert in my car and that’s okay. But one of the biggest ways I found to transform my daily life is to begin every single day by worshipping God. For the past 2 years, I have been unable to get ready in the morning or drive to school/work without listening to worship music. I also make new playlists every few months to keep it changed up. There’s something about when I take the time to meditate with God that helps me throughout my day. We all worship differently, but finding the music you love helps. Need some ideas? I’ll list some of my favorites at the end of the post.
  4. Write scripture down.
    Maybe this is just a “me” thing, but I remember things so much better when I write them down. (It’s also why I take hand-written notes for class) Plus, I’m a writer so writing what I’m reading and thinking helps me process it. It’s not uncommon to find sticky notes and sheets of paper taped around my apartment with scripture on it. Plus one of the biggest things I do is at the end of every devotional is find a key verse and write it at the end of my journal. The connection between my hand and my brain helps bring things to a new light. Maybe it’s worth giving it a try?
  5. PRAY.
    I don’t think I can ever emphasize the power of prayer enough. It is a direct line of communication with our heavenly Father. If you’re praying, God is hearing. I think Max Lucado says it best when he talks about how the power of prayer is in the one who hears, not the one who speaks (yes, I paraphrased that too). Some of the best conversations I have had with God, some of the moments I have heard him the loudest, the moments I have shared the most intimate portions of my life and heart with him have come through prayer. Prayer provides solace, comfort, strength, and also challenges us to live out the truth God is speaking to us. I probably sound like a fangirl here, but it’s worth it. Prayer changes things for us. It is so vital to our spiritual lives and we should use it daily.

So there you have it. The cause of Christ is nothing more than a journey. No matter where we are, no matter what we do, no matter the circumstances around us, it’s walking with God to find joy and bring glory to His name in everything.

Then we too can utter the prayer of Kari – “It is not fame that I desire, nor stature in my brother’s eye, I pray it’s said about my life, that I lived more to build your name than mine.”

P.S. Don’t think I didn’t forget song ideas!

  • Come Thou Fount – David Crowder Band (FAVORITE)
  • Messiah/You’re Beautiful – Phil Wickham
  • Here as in Heaven – Elevation Worship
  • Lead Me to the Cross – Hillsong
  • Be Thou My Vision – Ascend the Hill
  • How Great is Our God – Chris Tomlin
  • Build Your Kingdom Here – Rend Collective

Obviously there are tons more, those are just some of my favorites (and by some of my favorite artists) Give them a try!

Leave a Reply

