Music Wednesday: Praise the King

I genuinely apologize if you’re tired of hearing me talk about The Porch, the Tuesday night worship event I’ve been attending in Fort Worth, I’ve just enjoyed it SO much!

However, last night at The Porch I heard a worship song I had never heard before.

It’s funny how it started – the band started playing and this girl in the crowd yelled “YES!” Sure we all laughed, I mean doesn’t everyone get excited whenever they hear their favorite song start playing? It was an amusing moment. Yet once I heard the song and started singing the lyrics, I completely understood why the girl was shouting yes.

The song talks about the reason we find our freedom in Christ, and why we stand here now forgiven – Jesus is alive.

It would be too long to put all the lyrics in the post, but the bridge says this:

The grave could not ignore it when all of heaven’s roaring. Hell where is your victory? Death where is your sting? The world could not ignore it when all the saints are roaring. Hell where is your victory? Death where is your sting?

If that doesn’t put a smile on your face, I don’t know what will. Maybe that’s not the reason the girl yelled yes when the band started playing the song, but I like to believe it was.

Worshipping God because the King defeated death, is risen, and alive? I can’t think of a better reason to yell yes.

Leave a Reply

