Music Wednesday: The Song of History Majors

The song of history majors? Is it really called that? I honestly don’t know. To me, it is though.

It’s an interesting song. Interesting beat. Interesting flow of lyrics (because the lyrics were written before the actual tune of the song itself). Yet it somehow manages to cover 40 years of history in an incredibly catchy way.

Know which song I’m talking about?

We Didn’t Start the Fire by Billy Joel begins in the year 1949 with Harry Truman. In a delightful (and sometimes humorous way), Joel then proceeds to walk the listeners through some of the most influential instances in pop culture throughout the decades.

Joe DiMaggio. North & South Korea. Marilyn Monroe. H-bomb. Queen Elizabeth II. Stalin. The Communist bloc. Einstein. Castro. Bob Dylan. Pope Paul. JKF’s assassination. Woodstock. Sally Ride. The Pepsi vs. Coke battle. The list goes on.

The song covers everything, and I mean everything!

While I could see it as weird or annoying to some people, I find the song fascinating. Plus, as a history major, I appreciate the numerous references to all of these people, places, and events that shaped our world into what it is today.

Therefore I present to you one of my all-time favorite songs (and yes I know it word for word).

Leave a Reply

