23 Years Ago Today

i

Y’all, I’m a Rangers fan. Therefore, I had to share (as did everyone else…)

There are certain sports moments that can never go away, especially when you’re a diehard Rangers fan like myself (cough cough, game six of the 2011 World Series).

Now, I have to point out – this specific incident happened in 1993. I was not born yet. HOWEVER, I have grown up hearing the story it’s as if I was there.

After all, my parents went to the Rangers game the following day (August 5th).

So, that’s a lot of words to say 23 years ago today, baseball saw possibly one of the greatest moments ever when Nolan Ryan beat the crap out of Robin Ventura.

The video is shown all the time at the ballpark in Arlington so I have it memorized.

Here’s how it goes:

  • Ryan hits Ventura with a pitch
  • Ventura charges the mound
  • Ryan places Ventura in a headlock and goes at it
  • Ventura can never live this down

Definitely one of the most infamous bench-clearing brawls in baseball. And because I’m sure you’re curious – yes, the Rangers won the game 5-2. And no, Ryan was not ejected.

Don’t mess with Texas, y’all.

Happy anniversary, Robin.

P.S. If Ryan wasn’t enough…Bautista learned his lesson this year too.

I mean seriously…don’t mess with Texas.

052516 rougned odor.vadapt.664.high.90

Rangers forever.

Leave a Reply

