Can’t Stop the Beat

2086_65529679831_6612_n
Myself at 13

I’m not sure if you would consider today a “holiday” since there are so many national this and national that days. However, today is a holiday for me.

The 30th of July is National Dance Day, and that is a very revered day in my book.

I grew up in dance. Since I was a little girl, I have loved moving around and dancing to music. I was very active (as most children were) and was involved in dance, cheerleading, and gymnastics. As the years went on, I slowly let go of cheer and gymnastics and placed my heart in soul into ballet.

Dance became what I loved. I wanted to learn more. I wanted to become better. I made it a goal to have fouettés down by the time I was 10 or 11 (I made it. I didn’t have perfect technique, but I could do it).

2d86e4b60a998148085744e47249aac5
I can’t have a post about dance without Center Stage

As the years continued, dance became a passion. I channeled everything I had into dance. My routine was wake up, go to school, go to dance, come home, go to bed, repeat. There were nights I would spend five hours at the dance studio and I loved every minute of it. There were few things that could help me getting through life like walking into a studio blaring music and being able to leap my heart out (literally, I had a problem with not breathing while I danced).

Although I have not been able to be in dance for a quite a few years, it’s still a passion of mine. Plus, as every dancer does, I still have my moments where in times of stress or disappointment, I’ll turn on contemporary or classical music and dance.

I have thought about auditioning for So You Think You Can Dance so many times. I’m sorry to announce that will probably never happen. However, because it’s National Dance Day, I have decided to share one of my favorite routines ever performed on SYTYCD.

Here is Jeanine and Brandon performing a jazz routine to Battlefield. If you’re in awe, it’s understandable. Jeanine was the winner that season.

Happy National Dance Day, friends!

Leave a Reply

