Music Wednesday: Mussorgsky

The time has come…I mentioned in my very first blog post that I often listen to composers with Russian surnames. It’s simply a fact of life. I love classical music and the Russians are my favorite.

Modest Mussorgsky is one of the best. He was one of the biggest influencers of Russian music during what is technically the Romantic period, however, his music largely influenced the strong Russian nationalist movement of the mid-to-late 1800’s. He was heavily involved with the Romanov’s in their quest to make music and literature purely Russian.¬†Basically all the fun cultural stuff that went down before the firing squad.

Anyway, here is my favorite piece ever written by Mussorgsky. I love the brass at the beginning, it’s very heroic (and a large piece of national music). I could go on all day about the different movements in the song, but here is Pictures at an Exhibition!

Leave a Reply

