What is Past is Prologue

 

1-photo1.jpg
The National Archives in Washington D.C.

“And by that destiny to perform an act, Whereof what’s past is prologue, what to come In yours and my discharge.”
The Temptest: Act 2, Scene 1, William Shakespeare

Yesterday, in my post Extraordinary Glory, I wrote about God’s plan and how He works all things together for His glory. Today I ventured further into that concept by talking to some of my closest friends about what happened yesterday. I’ve always loved the quote “what is past is prologue,” and today I began to really see that come to play in my life.

Let’s backtrack a little bit – yesterday I got a piece of news and for about five minutes this piece of news upset me. More importantly, it confused me. I was confused because I thought what was to come went against the journey God had been taking me on in my life. For five minutes, I felt like things weren’t adding up. Then, in the moments of hurt and confusion and tears, I heard my Father’s still voice in my head, and His gentle hand reach out to me. In that moment my Father comforted me by saying “My child, don’t you realize this just sets the stage for a greater chance to allow my glory to shine forth?”

Everything changed. I knew the change was coming, but this was the moment. This was the pinnacle. I have been on a roller coaster, but the roller coaster hadn’t dropped yet. I’ve just been climbing the beginning track. Now, it’s like I have reached the climax.

7219254032_d9f0c76c2a_b
The Titan at Six Flags Over Texas

I’m sure this is all very confusing to you. I apologize, I’m really not meaning for it to be vague (but I am trying to protect the situation at hand). The point I’m trying to convey is what happened yesterday, by society’s standards, should have seriously upset/angered me. But it didn’t. Was a door closed on my life? Yes. But (there’s always a but), this was a door that needed to be closed, and quite frankly needed to be closed a long time ago. I respected what happened yesterday. I allowed the door to close and walked away.

Why was I able to do this? God gave me the strength to do it. I never would have been able to close this door without Him having my hand the entire time. Because closing this door in my life was probably the greatest thing to ever happen to me, even if I couldn’t see it at the time. I haven’t been able to stop smiling since last night. I have felt a peace from God that I haven’t felt in a long time. One door closed. That’s cool. Yet in this moment, so many other doors have opened.

As I said, I knew this moment was coming. God has been pushing my faith and refining me to reach this moment. I am now at the climax of the roller coaster. My Father told me now is the time for His glory to shine forth brighter than ever. I know it’s true. The drop is coming and I am about to be propelled forward to something great.

I have been praying constantly for God’s glory. I have been asking Him that He would find ways to have it shine forth brighter than it ever has before. I am now filled with the peace that it is coming. Funny how He answers our prayers sometimes. He just swung so many doors wide open, and I cannot wait to see where He leads me.

Again, God and I talk a lot about His promises. While I may not always know what the mean or when they are coming, of this I am certain – God’s promises are rarely early but they are never late. He is preparing for one of His greatest victories yet.

There is a song by Kristian Stanfill called “Always.” You may have heard it before. It can be found on the Passion soundtrack. The chorus simply goes “Oh my God, You will not delay, my refuge and strength always. I will not fear, His promise is true, my God will come through always, always.” Before, this song used to make me cry. Now this song makes me smile. I can feel this happening in my life. God’s promises will never delay.

As pastor Charles Spurgeon would state, “Continue in prayer, and though the blessing may tarry, it must come; in God’s own time it must appear to you.”

What is past is prologue suggests that all that has happened before that time has led to this opportunity. (And no, I’m not about to commit murder as Antonio and Sebastian were). But all of our acts lead up to the next moment. The past sets up the stage for the next act, as a prologue does for a play, as the climb of a roller coaster sets up for the ride itself.

God has been helping me reach the next moment. All the work He has done in my life has set up the stage for where He will send me next. Yesterday, I had a door closed in my life. But God is here. He is working in my life. He is sending me where I am to go next, and I’ve never been so excited to see his glory shine forth in my life. So watch out world, because God is about to do something great, and it’s going to be a great ride.

Leave a Reply

