Extraordinary Glory

71b07f1a8ee690ee43f911f1e7c6fdb5

“We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the life that is waiting for us.”
-Joseph Campbell

I have been debating for a while about what I wanted to post next, and then today I received some news. News that I knew was coming, but still was a slight slap in the face when I found out. I won’t deny I was upset, I cried a little bit, but that was it. I am even willing to say most of the tears came from building up to the news, and weren’t from the actual news itself. By the time everything was said and done, I was at peace about the situation.

See, it was in this moment I realized how much I have experienced the power of God’s healing. I never thought I would reach this day. I didn’t know how I would be able to handle having another curveball thrown into my life, but in this moment I could feel God standing with me. His encouragement filled my life. As I moved forward throughout my day, I knew the best was still yet to come.

Would it be weird to say in this moment everything began to make sense even though nothing makes sense at all? Probably. Are you thinking I’m crazy right now? I’m sure. But as my Father has taken me through this crazy journey of life, what I am seeing happen again and again over time is that if God showed us all He had planned for us, it would boggle our minds. All of those nights we cry out to God for answers, He doesn’t not answer us because He wants to hurt us. He doesn’t answer because He is protecting us.

My entire life God has pushed my faith beyond its limits. People often say God will never give us more than we can handle. I disagree. God does give us more than we can handle. Then when we ask why He only gives us glimpses of His plan along the way. If we could see all the open doors, all the paths we will cross, and the people we will collide with in our lives, we would not be able to handle it. This is why it stays in God’s hands and not ours. This is where our faith comes into play stronger than ever. This is where God grows our faith into believing Him before we see it.

God’s plan is intricate. Everything we face, all the setbacks, heartaches, disappointments, and even the victories, and happy moments are designed to get us where we are supposed to be. What we cannot do is fall into the trap of negativity and become complacent. God has something new down the road. We haven’t even touched what He has in store.

Not knowing the plan God has for us is scary, like really scary. But we never have to be afraid because our fears are drowned in perfect love.

God’s plan for my life takes me back, a lot. Here I am, I try to be and act like I’m this great Godly woman, but if y’all knew how many times I have questioned God’s plan and provision for me, how often I have yelled and screamed at Him, and how many times I have flat out asked Him where He is in my life, I guarantee you that you’d be shocked. Yet over the past few weeks, months, years (whichever you prefer), one thing I have constantly prayed is that God’s grace and glory would shine through me. I may not get to see it right now, but let’s remember we cannot always understand God’s plan in our immediate situations. My heart is filled with peace because somewhere down the road, I know God’s glory will shine forth in ways I never imagined.

I don’t say this to brag on myself. God’s plan for my life is not about me. It never has been. But after what happened today, I know that the day is coming where God’s glory is going to shine in my life brighter than it ever has before.

See, God and I like to talk about His promises. So much so, I’m sure you saw them on my guided visualization board from one of previous posts. The thing about these promises is God never told me what they were or when they were coming, He just told me He had great things in store and I needed to wait on them. Today was a reminder of that.

Romans 8:28 says “And we know that all things work together for the good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” I love this verse. Not only is it a verse of encouragement, it’s a verse of fact. The word know is from a Greek word meaning to know intuitively, not just experientially (yeah, I did some research). This verse reminds us God has a way of working things in our life together for our good. If this doesn’t comfort you, then I don’t know what will.

Let’s go back to that whole thing about God’s plan – how many times in our life have we experienced things we thought would be our destruction that actually ended up being some of the most amazing things to have ever endured in our lives? None of this was accident, blind chance, or some random act of fate. God Himself is the behind the scenes work in our lives.

I’m sure you’ve heard it before, but I want to say it again: as Christians, this does not mean we will not endure pain. There will still be sickness, there will still be struggles, we will still make mistakes. What this does mean is God will be there to work everything, or as the scripture uses all things, for our good. All things include the unfair and difficult things. But all things were tied together at the cross for our good and more importantly God’s glory.

And loving God is where we are filled with the sense of purpose and truth from this verse. Love is an action. Love is a verb. Love is not something we feel, it is something we do. Loving God is how we abide in His will.

If anything, this is how I was filled with peace today. Not because I had an innate sense of what news was to come, and it certainly was not because I don’t care, but it’s because God is awake and aware of everything that comes our way.

When we moved to Hillsboro, my dad constantly reminded me that nothing takes God by surprise, that He would protect me. This has stayed with me far more than I’m sure my dad ever thought it would, but after all these years I am still seeing it ring true within my life. God has His own wonderful way of turning bitterness into blessings.

2 thoughts on “Extraordinary Glory

Leave a Reply

