Have a Vision, Know Your Why

d148ad7bb23f914005105f3c3aad0c34

Ever hear of the 8 steps to success? They’re very popular in the marketing and business world. A simple Google search and you can find them instantly. Naturally, we talk about these 8 steps a lot at work.

Simply to break it down, the 8 steps are:

  1. Have a great attitude
  2. Be on time (that means 15 minutes prior)
  3. Always be prepared
  4. Work the full day
  5. Work the full territory
  6. Maintain your attitude
  7. Know your why
  8. Take control

I will not lie, my job is hard, and moving forward every day is a challenge in itself. Ever since I got back from Maryland, I’ve felt very burnt out at work. I tried my best to push forward, however some days were better than others. Then on Friday I did something I had never done before, I rolled a zero.

In case you don’t remember, my job is direct marketing and that means generating leads, and we are trained to be able to generate leads every day. Finishing with a zero was not a good thing.

I was upset, discouraged, and confused. I called my mom in tears. I didn’t know what to do. All I could think about is where I wanted to end up – Virginia, D.C., and federal affairs.

Just that morning, my boss talked about step 7 in the 8 steps to success – know your why. He said this as a motivation tool, to remind us and help us to keep moving forward that day. I knew my why, and I knew it was time to take the steps to remind myself of it every single day.

I thought back to a video I watched in Maryland – A TED Talk by Carrie Green called Programming Your Mind For Success. Green touches on a lot of important subjects in the video, obviously the most important being the power of your mind. What struck me the most about the video is when she talks about how she created a global company, lived what most would call a successful life, yet she wasn’t happy. She wanted to be successful but she wasn’t following her dreams, and instead her mind was filled with doubts, worries, and self-limited thoughts.

Instead of sitting back and keeping with a company she didn’t have a passion for, Green instead asked herself these four questions:

  1. What do you want to achieve?
  2. Why do you want to achieve it?
  3. Who do you want to become?
  4. How to take the steps to achieve it?

Green accomplished this through guided visualizations – picture where you want to be and get there. To do this, she made a goal board. And after rolling a zero on Friday, I knew it was time to analyze my success the same way Green did. So I got home from work on Friday and for the past two days I have been creating a goal board.

My goal board is finally done. So now I have a cork board full of my step 7 staring me in the eye every single day, reminding me of my why.

My friends often tell me it’s me against the world, that I am the next Maya from Zero Dark Thirty who is destined to marry the next Chris Kyle. I cannot lie, I love these comments and I hope to make these come true one day. But until that point, I cannot just have dreams anymore. I know my why. I know my vision. Now is the time to take the steps to make it come true.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Because as the quote says, “be fearless in pursuit of what sets your soul on fire.”

Leave a Reply

