Maryland Adventures: Final Update

Baltimore2

As promised, here is a quick run-down of my adventures in the great state of Maryland (shhh, don’t tell anyone but Virginia is still better).

Overall, while in Maryland I practically worked 12 hour days. I left my hotel at 8:30 in the morning and I wouldn’t get back to my hotel until after 9 at night (usually). To say I was tired physically and emotionally would be an understatement. I was exhausted. The work was hard and I had to push myself every day to do more and become better.

The Baltimore office was in desperate need of help. They just didn’t have the manpower to penetrate their markets as needed. This was were myself and the colleague I traveled with came in. Not only did we spend a ridiculous amount of time in the field, we also recruited for the office like crazy. Our entire two weeks were spent not only helping the office penetrate the market, but also helping the director more than double the manpower in his office.

I am not afraid to admit the trip was harder than I thought it would be but I learned a lot! I also grew a lot. I had to push myself to be a leader in the company because I had no choice but to be. While I may not be a leader in title (or pay), in attitude and actions I had to strive to achieve that daily.

Every single day I had to fight through negative thoughts and being homesick because ultimately I had a job that needed to be done. I had to realize that I am still learning and still growing, which is ultimately something that never stops when you really step back to think about it.

I remember specifically one night I called my boss after what I felt like was a bad day and I told him I felt like I was failing. This sucked because I don’t like failing. His response was “Well, Abby, I have news for you. This business is designed to make you fail.” It sounds blunt and backwards, right? Yet it’s true. From the very beginning of this job, everyone is very transparent about how this is an investment not only in your careers but also your life.

My job is hard because you have to face rejection from clients multiple times a day and keep pushing forward, all while maintaining a smile on your face and a positive attitude.

The trip was hard, yes. I will not deny that. But it was also fun. My trip taught me how negative things in life will happen. There is nothing we can do to avoid them, they will simply come. The same way happiness is a fleeting feeling, rejection and disappointment are fleeting too. Your attitude about a situation is what ultimately makes it a positive one.

There’s a song in Monty Python that says “always look on the bright side of life.” It sounds cliche, but when you work to apply it into your life every single day, it truly makes a difference.

Things will not always go the way we expect, my trip to Maryland certainly didn’t. That doesn’t mean we give up though. We keep pushing forward. As I continued to remind myself on my trip – God has a greater purpose for me. It was in those moments were I was tired and discouraged and ready to come home and hug my parents that I was able to thrive.

Maryland taught me to see the challenges of life and face them head on. Maryland reminded me that my strength is found not in who I am but who my Father is. I may have only spent two weeks in Maryland, but I have no doubt that I came back to DFW a better employee because of it (which apparently my boss did too because I got placed on a new account this week).

I feel like so often we are quick to judge people when they face trials. I know I have been. Maryland showed me how much I have misjudged people in certain situations before, but Maryland also opened my eyes to everything I want in life and the proper steps to go get it. Let me tell you, I am ready to go get it (seriously, watch out D.C. because I’m coming for ya!)

Trails are hard, but as I said they are possible to overcome because attitude is everything. Even if you have to fake it until you make it (as I have many times before) it is definitely possible.

Lastly, I want to emphasize remembering that God has a purpose for all of our lives. While we may not always understand it, it may not always make sense, and if you’re like me there are days you cannot help but look at God and go “Really?! Are you sure?!” that purpose is there. No matter what position you are in, what I learned is that when we really strive to live that purpose that is when I became the most successful personally.

I’ll leave you with the words from 1 Corinthians 10 – Whatever you do, do all for the glory of God. When you remind yourself of this on a daily basis, when you make this your purpose and remember everything you are and everything you do is for the glory of God and God alone, I promise it will make all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

