Those No-Good, Dirty, Rotten Mondays

9b5f68b4b2ef19176ba0728f09bcbab8

Monday’s…Monday’s…Monday’s… Don’t we all hate Monday’s? Personally, this Monday kicked me in the face, hard.

Let me give a bit of back story – last week I finished my first week at my new job. I could be conceited and say I killed it (but hey, I kind of did). In my office we have what we call “setting pace.” The company I work for represents a number of different clients and it is my job to generate leads for those clients. A day where an associate generates a minimum of four leads is when pace is set.

So, my first day in the field I was able to close my first lead. This was definitely a confidence booster. By my third day in the field, I set pace. I was on a mountain so high, nothing could bring me down. I drove home singing Garth Brooks to the cars next me and probably would have gone for a 6 mile run had I not had Mexican for dinner (oh well).

Today my boss and I talked about my push for leadership. This means I have to continue to set pace to be considered, and of course I was more than willing to try. However, when I got out in the field today I fell flat on my face. Three p.m. rolled around and I had squat. Nothing was producing. Nothing was closing. I was pretty bummed. I took my lunch break and went for a drive. I didn’t know what else to do except clear my head. As I drove around Keller, I evaluated my performance for the day, attempted to pin-point my issues, and just pray that my attitude could remain positive.

A quick pull into the QT gas station to grab a Kit-Kat and I was ready to go back to work. I didn’t know what else to do except hit the ground running, so I did. All I wanted was a lead that could generate something, and that’s exactly what I got. Ten minutes back at work, I closed a lead. I started feeling better. By the time the hour was up, I closed two leads.

While those were the only two leads I was able to generate for the day, I still felt more positive. I became the little ball of curly-haired energy I was the day I set pace. Even though nothing else came from the day, I still had a positive attitude which is a hugely important part of my job.

BUT (there’s always a but) on the way home I went on an adventure (?) around DFW. Traffic plus missing my exit and a number of other things left me driving around in circles. It definitely wasn’t fun. The worst part was, I was never necessarily lost. I had my bearings the entire time. I just couldn’t get where I needed to go. At the end of the day, I got home much later than I should have.

Blah is a very accurate way to describe my Monday. It was a Monday to say the least. However, the important thing to remember is how much happiness can be fleeting. At the end of the day, it is not a steady emotion. Our happiness is often dependent on our situation around us. A crappy Monday at work can seriously affect that. What is far more important is to remain joyous and not to fall into discontentment.

If you remember back to Beyond Ordinary: Part 4, Trisha Davis said “Where discontentment lives, brokenness thrives.” While my job is not a relationship, the same idea is still applicable. If we allow ourselves to fall into discontentment, we will fall. We become convinced what we have is not enough, we compare ourselves to others, and we simply cannot thrive while in that state.

We can never satisfy discontentment. I mentioned attitude as a number one part of my job because it is. Not only do I have to come in with a positive attitude everyday but I have to maintain my positive attitude. That’s the hard part.

Today I knew I was discontent. I knew my day wasn’t going as planned, but I couldn’t figure out to fix it. I did the only thing I knew how to do – I prayed. There are very few factors I can control on a day-to-day basis, but I can control myself. Even on the worst day, I can still be a light for God. I could have left work today with nothing, yet if I proceeded to give the glory to God in the process, I still would have left with everything.

In my devotionals the past few days, there has been an extensive study on God’s vision for our lives. This vision goes beyond simply existing. The vision is fulfilling. The vision provides us with direction, definition, and dynamic to our lives. The same way 1 Corinthians tell us that love endures through every circumstance, my job is all about persevering through every circumstance.

I have to stay focused on God’s vision for my life daily. If I don’t, I lose my sense of purpose. If what I’m doing is not for the glory of the Lord, then why am I doing it at all (1 Corinthians 10:13)? I have to allow God to be at work in my life which means looking past the nitty-gritty of a Monday living up to its reputation. As I remain focused on my prayer with God, I am able to look past my daily performance (or lack thereof) and keep moving forward. I am able to smile even in the hardest moments because my smile is for God and not myself.

The small, incremental choices we make daily affect our strategies for life. These choices eventually culminate and affect our goals. The smallest movements in the correct direction determine our destination. Prayer helps us make these seemingly small and incremental decisions. Prayer and staying focused on God’s vision for our lives is what helps make those dirty rotten Monday’s seem not as horrible. This is what helps make even the hardest days of our lives extraordinary.

 

One thought on “Those No-Good, Dirty, Rotten Mondays

Leave a Reply

