Light Look at Reading: February 2016

MarchBooks.png

As promised here is my list of books I read in February. The list is relatively short (February was a busy month for me) but still, I think some good reads are in here.

Here we go:

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
    After the death of Harper Lee, I did the only thing I knew how to honor her memory. I first read To Kill a Mockingbird my sophomore year of high school. Going back to reread it, I was reminded how amazing of a book it is! If you’re looking for a good read, this is definitely it.
  2. The Real Roosevelt – Edward Garstin Smith
    Not exactly your light bedtime read. This book was published in 1910 and is a propaganda book totally against Theodore Roosevelt. Seriously, a person has to have some serious hatred for Teddy to call the Panama Canal a tragedy worse than the Civil War and compare him to the Roman Emperor Nero (uh, what?). While a super short read, it’s not one I would recommend. I eventually reached the point the book was so bad, I was laughing. But hey, not every book can be a winner right?
  3. American Gun – Chris Kyle
    This was my second time reading the book. I know I listed American Gun on my original list, but it’s a really good book. Chief Kyle wrote a book that makes history feel personal (and as a history major, trust me this feeling is a rare find). Beyond discussing guns, Kyle also addresses major but often overlooked battles and events in U.S. history. If you like guns, history, or the military (or you’re like me and like all 3) then this IS the book for you!

That’s all for now, y’all. If you decide to read any of these books then enjoy and let me know what you thought about them. If you have any recommendations for me, I am all ears! Now go live fun and exciting lives with your books!

Leave a Reply

