On this day…Hillsboro became home

“Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes but when you look back everything is different?” -C.S. Lewis

I have a challenge for you – think back to your life six years ago. Do you remember it? Do you remember how tall you were? What kind of music you listened to? Maybe what kind of hair style you decided to rock that year? Who your best friends were? What about who you were dating?

Some of these things you may be able to remember vividly as if they were yesterday. Others maybe not as much…

For me, six years ago I was 15 years old. I was a sophomore in high school, secretary of Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), chairman of student council, and lieutenant of the school drill team on track to be captain my senior year. I was 5’2 (I still am), I listened to tons of Breaking Benjamin and other artists no one has ever heard of, I had short hair, my best friends were Hannah, Madi, and Meghan, and I was single.

What about on this day six years ago? This one is a little bit tougher and I am willing to bet you probably don’t remember what you did on January 17, 2010. For me? On January 17, 2010, my life would change forever.

On January 17, 2010, my dad accepted the position to be the new pastor at First Baptist Church of Hillsboro. I remember the day so vividly, yet other parts are just a blur. A culmination of trials throughout my sophomore year would peak on this day. I would travel back to Orange, Texas knowing that life would never be the same again.

IMG_2353
My parents and I on my dad’s first Sunday as pastor

On January 17, 2010, God answered my prayers. While I never really opened up about it because I knew I had a blessed life in Orange, I was beyond ready to leave. I am positive this is the reason I was perfectly okay with my dad talking to the church in Hillsboro. They say when it comes to the person you should marry when you know, you know. This was me except with moving. Whether I wanted to admit it or not, I knew at some point in the future I would start a new life. My new life blessed me beyond belief and was far greater than anything I ever imagined.

On January 17, 2010, I got to meet the people who I would begin to form new relationships with (along with about 200 other people). I met my new church family, my new classmates, and my new best friends.

I’ll never forget standing in the front of a line of people and having a blur of faces come shake my hand and welcome me to Central Texas. I’ll never forget Sarah coming back in and asking my parents if she could take me to the youth group dinner. I’ll never forget sitting on the floor of a house I had never been to before, owned by the man who is now my doctor, and talking for what felt like forever with Cameron and Patrick. I’ll never forget this guy named Ryan talking about how good of a cook our host was. I’ll never forget some loud kid in a black and gold letterman jacket named Jared telling me bye.

These people became my friends and my support group. I would go back to my house knowing it wouldn’t be my house much longer. I would walk the halls of Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School wondering how different life at Hillsboro High School would be. I attended church at North Orange Baptist Church on Wednesday nights trying to make the most of the time I had left with my friends. I dedicated myself even further to Ms. Pam at Ingram School of Dance knowing that my journey as a ballerina would soon end.

I started living two lives. During the week I built up to saying goodbye to my life in Southeast Texas while on the weekends I embraced my new life in Central Texas. My friends in Orange would learn about the people I was meeting in Hillsboro while the people in Hillsboro would learn about the life I was leaving behind in Orange.

Six years ago today my life changed forever. Although some people cannot bear the thought of moving during high school, I would never change my circumstances. If I had the opportunity to go back and do it again, I would every single time.

To say God knew what he was going when he sent my family to Hillsboro would be an understatement. So many things in my life began to make sense when I moved. Pieces of the puzzle were put into place and I saw His plan at work in my life clearer than I ever had before. In 2009, Hillsboro was just a town my family would occasionally pass through on our way to grandma’s. People I can only imagine to have crossed paths with before finally collided into my life, never to leave the same as when we found each other. On January 17, 2010, six years ago today, Hillsboro became home.

 

 

One thought on “On this day…Hillsboro became home

Leave a Reply

