Christmas Eve Gift

CHRISTMAS EVE GIFT!

For those of you who know what I’m talking about, considered yourself gifted. For those of you who have never heard of Christmas Eve gift, well there is no better time to learn!

The whole point of Christmas Eve gift is to say (more yell) it at someone before they say it to you. Most people say it in hopes of receiving a present of some sort. My family does it simply to do it. Basically a game of tag, it’s a fun tradition my family works hard to keep around. Of course, I am passing it on to y’all!

Today is Christmas Eve and in honor of Christmas Eve, I have decided to share some of my Christmas favorites. First things first, we will start with my top 5 favorite Christmas songs:
5. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year – What a perfect way to begin this list! Christmas truly is my favorite time of the year and this song can make anyone smile.

4. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy – as The Nutcracker is my all-time favorite ballet, this one HAD to make this list. A beautiful song to go with a beautiful dance (also one of the hardest dances I’ve ever had to learn).

3. Carol of the Bells – I’m not sure if there is anyone who doesn’t love this song, right? Especially the Trans Siberian Orchestra version. Though I do tremendously love the original as well. Enjoy!

2. White Christmas – There is just something about this song. Is it Bing Crosby’s voice? Is it the fact that I love snow? I may never know, but I love, love, LOVE this song!

1. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel – This song is my favorite Christmas song ever. Like ever. Singing this during the advent season at church. The music. The lyrics. The meaning. Purely amazing.

Next, we will move on to my favorite Christmas movies. This one is a tough one, but these are classics which will never get old to me:
5. Miracle on 34th Street (the 1947 version, though the ’94 version is good too) – If this isn’t the epitome of a feel-good Christmas movie, I’m not sure what is.
4. A Christmas Story – I will say upfront my dad is probably sorely disappointed in me for having this movie so “low” on my list. If you’re looking for a Christmas movie with HILARIOUS dialog, this is certainly the one.
3. It’s a Wonderful Life – A classic movie that will never get old. Maybe it’s Donna Reed, maybe it’s George telling Mary he’ll lasso the moon for her (AKA hopeless romantic relationship goals). If there were ever a Christmas movie I wanted to be apart of, this would be the one.
2. Elf – This movie had to be at the top of my list. This is THE hilarious movie of my generation. I die laughing every single time I watch it. And remember, the yellow one’s don’t stop!
1. White Christmas – They just don’t make Christmas movies like this anymore. Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye are truly unparalleled. Vera Ellen makes me feel inadequate as a tapper, but that is perfectly okay. I HAVE to watch this movie every Christmas. It’s perfect.

Lastly, my favorite Christmas traditions:
5. Watching Christmas movies – Every Christmas Eve my family watches Christmas movies and we love every minute of it. They are a perfect way to get into holiday cheer!It's a wonderful life
4. Decorating – Decorating for Christmas is one of my favorite days of the year. I dance around my apartment to Bing Crosby with the biggest smile you will ever see on my face.FullSizeRender
3. Baking – For as long as I can remember, I have baked all day on Christmas Eve. Sugar cookies, gingerbread, sausage balls, peanut butter balls, and tons of other fun treats.FullSizeRender(3)
2. The candlelight service at church – The highlight of every Christmas Eve. Hearing the Christmas story and singing Silent Night to a candle lit room will always be special to me. FullSizeRender(1)
1. Family time – No matter what, Christmas brings so many memories to my family. Our time together at Christmas is unlike any other time and I will always cherish it. FullSizeRender(2)

So Merry Christmas Eve from my family to yours! May your days always be merry and bright, even if your Christmas can’t always be white (I do live in Texas after all).

Leave a Reply

