El Pais de la Eterna Primavera

I have been very nostalgic lately. I am sure it is because I am in a period of transition in my life, all I know is I have constantly found myself going through old pictures on my computer.

Tonight I went through pictures of my many different trips. The album that stuck out to me the most was Guatemala. As I said in a previous post, my last trip to Guatemala was hard. I was tired, heartbroken, and I got sick while I was there. However, while I reminisced from my time in Central America I noticed a theme in my pictures – the happiness in the children.

IMG_3218.jpg

The more pictures of kids I saw, the more I saw how truly happy they were. Their happiness made me happy. The happiness of the children reminded me why I packed up and went to Guatemala in the first place. The circumstances of my personal life and any hard memories I faced at the time were no longer important; the happiness of these kids is first and foremost of the most importance.

I have not been on a mission trip since Guatemala, but I pray that will change soon. I pray I can meet more kids and bring more kids happiness.

IMG_3302

It’s funny – as I continue to look at these pictures I hear Third Day playing through my mind.
“Children of God, sing your song and rejoice for the love that He has given us all. Children of God, by the blood of His son we have been redeemed and we can be called Children of God.”

IMG_3308
Myself, Brittany, and Pablo
IMG_3296.jpg
This little girl became very special to me while in Guatemala. She spent the entire afternoon attached at my hip. I never learned her name but we bonded watching the rain together. 

How beautiful it is to be called the sons and daughters of God. How even more beautiful it is (and comforting) to be able to call God our Father.

IMG_3338.jpg

Obviously, we should not live in the past, yet sometimes I think nostalgia is good for us. We can be reminded of the good in our lives. We are shown where we have been and where we are headed. In the case of Guatemala, not only was I reminded of how far I’ve come, I was also reminded of my love for international travel, and most importantly I was reminded of my love for other people. We live in a truly beautiful world created by our God and I am thankful for the small opportunities I have been given to experience it.

 

Side note – In DFW Airport there was also a place called the “Wall of Thanks” where people could sign notes for our nation’s military. Obviously I had to make my mark. I could not have done it without a little inspiration from Ryan Job. IMG_3151.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

