#ThePowerOfMakeup

Not too long ago vlogger NikkieTutorials created a movement called #ThePowerOfMakeup. In a video, she does a tutorial where she did half of her face and left the other half untouched. She did this tutorial to stop makeup shaming and show how the transformation of makeup can be fun. The movement has taken over Instagram and women are showing how makeup allows them to express themselves.

Going off of the movement, it’s no secret I absolutely love makeup. There is something about getting dolled up and having a different color glitter eyeshadow on every day that I find extremely cathartic. Like most girls, I can gladly admit that I do not do my makeup to impress anyone. I have no problem going out into the world without makeup on. However, I do go out daily with makeup on because at the end of the day I find makeup truly fun. I enjoy experimenting with different eyeshadows, eyeliners, blushes, and lipsticks. The combinations I create with my makeup allow me to express my mood (and match my outfit) for the day.

I am often asked by people how I do my makeup and which products I use. While I may not use all of these products every day (though on days I really want to get dressed up I do), here is the list of my favorite makeup products:
Smashbox Photo Finish Hydrating Primer
Benefit Erase Paste Concealer
tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation
Too Faced Sun Bunny Natural Bronze
Becca Cosmetics Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed highlighter
NARS Blush Orgasm
Stila Stay All Day Waterproof liquid eyeliner
Benefit They’re Real! Lengthening & Volumizing mascara
Plus a variety of eyeshadow pallets and lipsticks

In honor of #ThePowerOfMakeup movement, I have taken my own selfies to show how much I love makeup and getting dressed up. In these pictures, I am wearing the makeup listed above along with the fashion combination from the Too Faced Natural Eyes pallet and tarte Park Ave Princess lipstick. As I said, sometimes it’s just nice to get dolled up and feel like I belong on Park Avenue.

Image-1
Before & after of my makeup transformation

As I said, doing my makeup every morning allows me to relax and helps me feel girly. Makeup truly is fun. So here’s to #ThePowerOfMakeup movement. Hopefully women can continue to enjoy it as much as I have.

FullSizeRender-2
The finished product for the day

For more of my interest in makeup and my ultimate makeup goals, feel free to follow my makeup board on Pinterest at Kiss & Makeup.

Leave a Reply

