Bears vs. the Cyclones vs. a Cyclone

First of all, I apologize it has been a quite a few days since I have posted. Life has been crazy and I will try to be better about posting in the future.

So today I attended my last Baylor homecoming football game (as a student of course). This was my fourth homecoming at Baylor and I don’t think I have had a normal experience yet. My freshman year I was in the parade for the Baylor Baseball Diamond Girls. I had been up since 4 a.m. and the weather was bad so I didn’t end up going to the game. Instead I took a 6 hour nap in my dorm room. My sophomore year I was in the parade again for Diamond Girls. Once again, I had been up since 4 a.m. The original plan was to walk in the parade and then go to the game with my boyfriend. However, plans unexpectedly fell through and instead of going to the game, he and I went to Olive Garden and made it a date night. Last year, I was in New York on homecoming. Instead of being at the game, I was seeing Phantom of the Opera on Broadway. Yeah, I’m not complaining there.

Needless to say, after missing games every year before for various reasons, I was determined to make it to this game. I am proud to say I stuck to this credo. Today at 11 a.m. I, along with my friends Kaelan and Theo (and some other very brave souls), stood freezing in the pouring rain on the 20 yard line to watch the Bears get a win over the Iowa State Cyclones.

I was completely soaked and freezing after the game, but that's okay because Baylor sic'd ISU
I was completely soaked and freezing after the game, but that’s okay because Baylor sic’d ISU

The day may not have gone as planned, but that didn’t make it any less enjoyable. The original plan was to have a pre-homecoming breakfast at my house with all my friends before going to the game. Last night, however, we were all up pretty late from the storm. Doesn’t everyone enjoy their power going out at 3 a.m.? Meeting up at 8:30 a.m. was no longer apart of the plan. Multiple cups of coffee and breakfast tacos are the reason I survived the morning. At 10:30 a.m. Theo called me and we were ready to enjoy the game no matter what.

I won’t deny it was pretty miserable to stand in the rain during the game. I was soaked, my glasses were foggy, and I was exhausted. I could complain about how “hard” being at the game was, and in my opinion Baylor did not play their best, however, seeing Shawn Oakman literally pick a guy up and throw him on the ground made it worth while.

Beyond just enjoying the game, today (and most of this week) I have been reminded of how blessed I am and the friends I have made at Baylor. It is not exactly a secret I was not an active student my first couple years of college. I have no regrets for the choices I’ve made, but something within me changed this week. The best way I can describe it is I fell in love with my school all over again. As I reflected on how hard this semester has been, I could not focus only on the bad. I was overwhelmed with all of the good that has come from this semester thus far. I began to feel the memories I have made this semester made up for the “lost” time I was not an active student. In reality, I just began to see how much I have grown and how much I have changed. I no longer saw myself as the person ready to grow up but the person who truly was trying to enjoy life as it comes.

Maybe I’m just feeling nostalgic because I graduate in 56 days, but seeing the life I have been blessed with has filled me with so much joy and happiness this week. I never would have imagined God had such an amazing and perfect plan waiting for me in college. I feel comfortable calling the trials I have been through adventures because they are.

Comparing this post to the rain and the football game, I guess what I’m trying to say is it would have been easy to be upset that Baylor didn’t put up 60+ points on ISU during this monsoon, but it does not mean something positive did not come out of the game. If anything, the Bears still got the win. Likewise, this semester has probably been my hardest semester yet. College has been so much harder than I ever thought. Yet, positive things have still come from this adventure I am on. Even if the only positive from my story is that I stood in the rain to watch a football game, everything is still worth while. Reminding myself of how blessed I am has overwhelmed me with thankfulness and reminded me of how a tough semester has still been a great one.

The rain did not stop Baylor from hanging 28+ points on ISU in the first half
The rain did not stop Baylor from hanging 28+ points on ISU in the first half

So happy homecoming, Baylor nation! I’ll always love ya!

Leave a Reply

