Serve Those Who Serve Us

We all have dreams for our lives. Whether big or small, I think it is safe to say everyone has an idea of the person they would like to become. Little girls want to be princesses, little boys want to be firefighters. Those in business dream of becoming CEO’s while those in sports dream of making it to the big leagues. We all have desires and we all wonder what we can do to make these desires become a reality.

Maybe I’m different, maybe I’m not, all I know is starting at a young age I always felt God had greater plans for my life. When I was 10, I quickly realized I had a passion for history. Possibly I was under the influence of National Treasure, or I just woke up one day and decided what I wanted to do with my life.  I just know I recall being in the 5th grade and deciding I wanted to be a history major. I wanted to incorporate history into my life somehow. I wanted to live and work in D.C. I loved the National Archives and the American Revolution. For the next 10 years of my life, I knew this was what I wanted.

Many people told me I would change my mind. I often received responses like “that’s cute but you’ll see how you change when you get older” when I told people I wanted to be a history major. Me, being the wonderfully stubborn person I am, wanted to prove these people wrong. I wanted to prove that I could go to college, be a history major, and end up in D.C. when I graduated. I set my sites on the goals I created for my life and never looked back.

Me at the Jefferson Memorial when I was 14
Me at the Jefferson Memorial when I was 14. The Tidal Basin area is one my favorite locations in D.C.

While I have maintained the gist of my life plan throughout the years, God must have looked at my five, 10 and 20 year plans for my life and said “LOL just watch.” I basically had my entire life planned out and things were not supposed to deviate from that plan. But things did change and I am so thankful for the shifts my life took.

I have absolutely loved my undergraduate career as a history major at Baylor, however, I initially wanted to go to UT. I can distinctly remember the Baylor at UT game in 2010. I sat on the UT side but my seat was directly across from the Baylor student section. I did not want to admit it, but that night I realized how easy it was for me to picture myself as a Baylor student. At one point I even remember saying in my head “that could be me.”

Baylor was the first college I applied to. When it came time for me to make a decision, I was torn between Baylor and A&M. I never even sent in an application to UT. I cannot count the amount of times I wondered if I made the right choice by going to Baylor. My freshman year was a crazy whirlwind of thoughts and so many times I thought life would have been so much easier if I just transferred to A&M. But I stayed. While I do not fully understand everything in my life, one thing I know for sure is staying was the best decision for me.

I had pondered the idea of PR since my freshman year, but I never fully committed. Finally during my advising session for Fall 2014, I declared a PR minor with the Baylor school of journalism (which is accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication). This is quite possibly one of the best decisions I have made during undergrad. If I had not stayed, I probably would not have entered into journalism, at least not with a program as amazing as Baylor’s.

As I began my PR classes, I quickly realized how much I loved journalism. It was not long before I was corrupted. Throughout the next couple semesters I realized I loved history, I loved journalism/PR and I wanted to find a way to make these things combine in my life. You guessed it, once again my plans had changed. While I would still love to work for the National Archives, I soon came to realize this was not entirely what I wanted with my life. I realized my heart rested in other places and these places were where action would happen.

I had some pretty big self-revelations specifically concerning things I’m passionate about. Obviously I’m passionate about history and PR, but another thing I have a huge passion for is this nation and more specifically the military. I honor the military. I believe those who serve have some of the greatest aspirations for life. I knew I wanted to serve those who serve us. It took a while for me to figure out how to combine these things, but once I learned about public affairs I knew there was no turning back. I already knew I suffered from a huge case of Potomac Fever, then I came to firmly believe public affairs is a way to make all the dreams I have for my life come true. I transitioned from a little girl with a dream to a woman with a vision.

Coming upon public affairs has been a journey, but the more I explore the topic of working with the government and our military, the more I fall in love with it. As I have said, I’m just trying to figure out God’s plan for my life. One thing my journey has taught me is how God works desires into our lives. Psalm 37:4 gets quoted a lot – “Delight yourself in the Lord; and He will give you the desires of your heart.” For many years I never thought profoundly about this verse. I figured it meant be a good person and God will give you what you want. One day I finally sat down and read this entire passage. My thoughts completely changed. Starting with verse 3 and going through verse 5 – “Trust in the Lord and do good; Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness. Delight yourself in the Lord; and He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, and He will do it.” Once I read that passage, the verbs hit me across the head like a coconut. I realized this has absolutely nothing about me getting what I want. Instead I realized when I chase after God, His desires for my life become my desires for my life. I firmly believe that there are desires God has placed in my life because they are supposed to be there. I also believe that as I have grown and chased after God, he has shown me who I am supposed to become.

As I said in my first post, I love people and I just want to make a difference. I’m 21 years old and I’m just really trying to figure out where to go in life that will make me happy, but God is guiding me. After the journey I have been through, I do believe public affairs is what I am called to do. These things I have realized, the things I am passionate about, they are not coincidences. They are absolutely a work of God. I firmly believe that somehow I am called to serve those who serve us.

Leave a Reply

