In Christ Alone

As I said in my previous post, my faith is the most important thing in my life. Because of this I believe it is important to glorify God and the work he has done in my life. I cannot think of a better way to do this than sharing my testimony.

It would not be a stretch to say I was born in the church. As the daughter of a preacher, I was at church every time the doors opened and then some. This made for a slightly different childhood, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

By the grace of God, I was saved when I was eight at VBS. My little, eight-year-old self thought that was enough and I was good. Years later, as an emotional 13-year-old girl, I realized there was so much more to this life than just going to church and being a “good person.” After having quite the conversation with God one night, I knew things needed to change. I guess you could say I rededicated my life that night. I have never been the same since.

Jump forward two years to my sophomore year of high school. Moving. Not exactly the words every 15-year-old wants to hear. In my case, however, I saw it was a blessing. Moving was an answered prayer and something I really needed at that point in my life. I was excited to start a new life.

I moved June 10, 2010 and little did I know the crazy rollercoaster life God soon had in store for me. I started school at my new high school. I never really established myself there because I figured two years was not a long time. I simply needed to make it to graduation. Where I did end up establishing myself the most was just a block down the street from my house. If you know anything about the song “Meet in the Middle” by Diamond Rio, this soon became the theme of my life. I fell in love with a boy (who I now consider one of the greatest men I know). We dated until the end of my sophomore year of college. I could not have asked for a greater three years of my life, or a better first love. I was dreaming of the day we would get married, but God had other plans.

Our breakup was hard. It would be an understatement to say I struggled. However, when I look back in hindsight, I know everything about that night was an act of divine intervention. When things first started to change, I screamed and cried to God that everything was all wrong. Oh but how I was the one that was wrong. God had plans for him and he had plans for me. Part of these plans required us walking away from each other. At the end of my relationship, I found my identity in my boyfriend, not in Christ. This needed to change. I guess you could say my world fell apart. However, now I would say that night began the process of my world falling into place.

I know now that as much as it hurt to leave the life I had behind, it was ultimately what was right. God had to shape me and mold me for something greater. He was trying to get my attention, but I simply kept ignoring him. The walls of my life had to be torn down and everything I held close had to be taken from me. I had to learn how to stop trying to control everything in my life before He and I would finally be able to walk forward in this life together. He may have “wrecked” my life, but He was also the first person there to help me rebuild it.

Letting go is the hardest thing I have ever had to do, yet in the process of letting go, I found that God took the emptiness I felt and filled it with Himself. This is easily the greatest blessing in my life. I had to learn to put my full trust in Christ and find joy in Him alone. I had to have the faith He would give me the strength to carry on and know He would protect me along the way. When I finally came to realize all of this, I realized I was never abandoned. God had been with me the entire way.

I bless those who have come in and out of my life. I am thankful for meeting them and the time we spent together. What my journey has ultimately taught me is that everything in my life is for God’s glory. I would have never been able to reach the point I am at currently if He had not shown me how much He needs to be the center of my life, not everything else.

The things I have been through in this life are crazy, at times they seem so surreal. Daily I find God making Himself greater in my life. There is nothing more I could ask for. Everything I am is found in Christ alone.

Leave a Reply

